I read an article the other day about how large national chains are now using the word “Artisan” for their describe their food. I saw it for the first time today. I had to look to see what Artisan/Artisanal it actually means. This is what Wikipedia says:

An artisan (from Italian: artigiano) is a skilled manual worker who makes items that may be functional or strictly decorative, including furniture, clothing, jewellery, household items, and tools. As an adjective (spelled “artisanal”), it has been used as a marketing buzz word to describe or imply an association with the crafting of hand made food products, such as bread, tofu, beverages and cheese.

I can’t say that Domino’s and Artisan are words that go together. Today was the day that Artisan stopped meaning anything to me and it makes me feel sad.

